A Few of My Favorite Things

 

Frozen hard snow-ice on terra firma,

Bright career possibilities in Thailand and Burma,

Brown paper packages shipped from Beijing,

These are a few of my favorite things…

 

When my grades bite,

When a meme stings

When it’s hard being a graaaad,

I just think of my job in the admissions office, and am thankful I work for Brad.

 

Study sleepovers and real maple syrup

Hope against hope for an internship in Europe,

Geneva and Peace Corps sweetly beckoning.

These are a few of my favorite things!

 

When nuclear proliferation bites,

And my professor’s lectures stings,

And I’m feeling pooooor,

I just think of refugees andcleanwaterandhealth, and I’m not impoverished anymore.

 

Intramural and Club teams and early gym workouts,

Knowing because of instagram your friends where-a-bouts,

Professional dress and late library dates,

The inevitability of feeling like a neonaaaate…

 

When your grades bite,

And a tweet stings,

When it’s hard being a graaaad,

Remember you go to the Korbel School and your future is iroooonclaaaad.

 

 

3 thoughts on “A Few of My Favorite Things

Leave a Reply

